Swiss banks without "non-resident" fees

Here you will find the right answers

About Moneyland Forum

The moneyland.ch forum lets you exchange knowledge on numerous topics related to money and get answers to your questions at any time. Join forum users and experts in discussions relating to banking, investment, insurance, retirement, telecom and everyday money topics.

Show categories

Please login in or sign up to participate in the forum.

• BenutzernameMoneyland User Questions
  • Status Member
  • Registriert seit1/27/17
  • Beiträge2142

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I would appreciate your assistance in some of my questions regarding my bank assets after leaving Switzerland (but not permanently).

I am a EU citizen (Greek). I had been working in Zurich for 1,5 years and next week I move to Finland. Thus I would like to know if there is any Swiss bank where I could keep my money and will not be subjected to "non-resident" fees. Please take into account that I will deposit every month a certain amount of declared money in my Swiss account from Finland.

I plan to come back in the near future, so I do not wish to close my current bank account (UBS), but unfortunately I am subjected to extra monthly fees.

Which is the best solution for me if I keep my money in Switzerland?

Is there any possibility of having a Swiss bank account with an annual interest and without extra monthly fees?

Thank you very much for the assistance given.

Looking forward to your feedback.

Kind regards,

• BenutzernameMoneyguru von moneyland.ch
  • OrtSchweiz
  • Status Expert
  • Registriert seit8/4/15
  • Beiträge4002

Hi there,

In general, Swiss banks charge additional extra non-resident fees. You can find more information on non-residents fees in this article.

There are a few exceptions though. 

PostFinance for instance, which has branches at most Swiss post offices, does not charge non-resident fees for its savings accounts (but high non-resident fees for its private accounts).