Increase in UBS account fees

Here you will find the right answers

About Moneyland Forum

The moneyland.ch forum lets you exchange knowledge on numerous topics related to money and get answers to your questions at any time. Join forum users and experts in discussions relating to banking, investment, insurance, retirement, telecom and everyday money topics.

Show categories

Please login in or sign up to participate in the forum.

• Benutzernamegamzo1234
  • Status Member
  • Registriert seit10/6/20
  • Beiträge2

I am a non resident account owner with UBS for more than 19 years.

Last week I received a letter from the bank informing me about a dramatic change in basic account fees from around 350 CHF a year to 330 CHF per month. Yes month, that is allmost 4000 USD a year for all accounts with less than 500K CHF!

More information can be found in this link:

https://www.ubs.com/content/dam/assets/rc/wealth-management/202006-pl-excerpt-wmsc-e.pdf

Have you heard about this change in fees? What shall I do now? I will try to change to another swiss bank because paying so much just for the having a deposit in the bank will make me feel very stupid!

• BenutzernameMoneyguru von moneyland.ch
  • OrtSchweiz
  • Status Expert
  • Registriert seit8/4/15
  • Beiträge4002

Good day

Yes, the significant fee increase for UBS clients domiciled abroad was also an issue in the Swiss press.

The solution, as you say, is to change banks.

Unfortunately, most Swiss banks charge additional fees for private clients residing abroad. But not necessarily as high as at UBS. You can find more information here: Swiss Bank Fees For Non-Resident Customers

Furthermore: If you use asset management and/or trading, the surcharges for a residence outside of Switzerland are often less high.