Digital Onboarding

The term “digital onboarding” is widely used in online marketing. In banking, the term denotes the practice of signing up for a bank account or other banking service entirely online or via mobile. In relation to bank accounts, digital onboarding refers to opening a bank account online.

Digital onboarding gained significance in the banking industry in 2016, when Swiss financial regulatory authority FINMA allowed banks to take on new customer through purely digital means using video authentication.

Previously, identification of customers via online channels was not permitted in Switzerland. Banks identified customers by mail via officially-endorsed paper documents or face to face interviews at branch offices.

Many Swiss banks still require face to face interviews at branch offices as their standard process for opening new accounts. This may change in the future as digital authentication practices become more widely accepted.

A handful of Swiss banks do allow digital onboarding. Valiant Bank, for example, has accepted digital onboarding as a means of opening new accounts since 2016.

More on this topic:
How do I open a Swiss bank account?
Private accounts in Switzerland
Savings accounts in Switzerland
Mortgages in Switzerland
Swiss online mortgages
Online brokers in Switzerland

About Moneyland Magazine

The moneyland.ch magazine provides accurate, unbiased information on topics related to finance and money. In addition to research and expert interviews, the magazine contains numerous financial guides.

Digital Onboarding

Der englische Fachbegriff  «Digital Onboarding» stammt aus dem Online-Marketing.

Im modernen Banking bezeichnet «Digital Onboarding» einen Abschluss eines Bankprodukts via Online- und Mobile-Kanäle. Der Kunde wird gleichsam online «an Bord geholt». Im Bereich Konten bezeichnet «Digital Onboarding» also eine Kontoeröffnung über das Internet.

«Digital Onboarding» ist für Schweizer Banken spätestens seit 2016 ein Thema. Mit dem Segen der Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA sind in der Schweiz ab 2016 auch (rein) digitale Kontoeröffnungen mit Videoidentizierung erlaubt.

Bis anhin war in der Schweiz noch eine Offline-Kundenidentifizierung Pflicht – entweder mittels einer Echtheitsbestätigung auf Papier oder mit einer persönlichen Vorsprache des Kunden in einer Bankfiliale.

Bei vielen Schweizer Banken gehört die Vorsprache in einer Filiale weiterhin zum Standardprozess einer Kontoeröffnung. Das dürfte sich aber in Zukunft mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung des Bankenwesens ändern.

Einzelne Schweizer Banken wie die Valiant bieten ab 2016 bereits eine komplett digitale Kontoeröffnung an – samt digitaler Unterschrift.

Weitere Informationen:
Wie eröffne ich ein Schweizer Bankkonto?
Privatkonten in der Schweiz
Sparkonten in der Schweiz
Hypotheken in der Schweiz
Schweizer Online-Hypotheken
Tradingkonten in der Schweiz

Über das Moneyland-Magazin

Das Moneyland-Magazin informiert Sie kompetent und unabhängig über eine Vielzahl von Finanz- und Geldthemen. Neben Hintergrundartikeln und Interviews mit Experten finden Sie zahlreiche praktische Geldratgeber.