john neff 1931

John Neff (* 1931)

John Neff is known as a contrarian and a value investor.

After studying at the University of Toledo, John Neff worked as a stock analyst at the National City Bank of Cleveland for eight years.

In 1964 he moved to Wellington Management Co., where he led the Windsor, Gemini & Qualified Dividend Funds as portfolio manager. Until 1995, Neff was responsible for the consistent spectacular profits achieved by the Fund over several decades.

John Neff’s investment philosophy is generally considered to be a mix of contrarian and value investing.

He buys stocks - large, small and mid-caps – which have a low price-to-earnings ratio (P/E).

His analyses often include personal discussions with company management to help him better assess a company’s potential.

His contrarian side comes into play when he purchases stocks which have lost in value following negative reports. He often buys into popular sectors “indirectly” by investing in shares of companies near to an industry.

An example of how this investment style works: An investor following Neff’s investment philosophy would not buy stocks from oil companies if they can buy cheaper shares in oil-drilling equipment manufacturers instead.

Stock trading fees compared

About Moneyland Magazine

The moneyland.ch magazine provides accurate, unbiased information on topics related to finance and money. In addition to research and expert interviews, the magazine contains numerous financial guides.

John Neff (* 1931)

John Neff gilt gemeinhin sowohl als Contrarian als auch als Value-Investor.

Nach seinem Studium an der University of Toledo arbeitete John Neff für acht Jahre als Aktienanalyst bei der National City Bank of Cleveland.

1964 stiess er zu Wellington Management Co., wo er als Portfolio Manager die «Windsor, Gemini & Qualified Dividend Funds» leitete. Bis 1995 war Neff über drei Jahrzehnte lang für die spektakulären Renditen des Funds verantwortlich.

John Neffs Investment-Philosophie wird gemeinhin umschrieben als eine Mischung zwischen einem Contrarian- und Value-Ansatz.

Er kauft Aktien – Large-, Small- und Mid-Caps – solange sie über tiefe Kurs-Gewinn-Verhältnisse verfügen («low P/E investing»).

Gerne spricht er vor einer Investition auch direkt mit dem Management einer Firma, um sich über deren Fähigkeiten zu informieren. 

Seine Seite als Contrarian zeigte sich etwa beim Kauf von Aktien, nachdem diese aufgrund von schlechten Nachrichten signifikant an Kurswert verloren hatten. In populäre Branchen kaufte er sich oft «indirekt» ein, indem er in branchennahe Aktien investierte. 

Als Beispiel für diesen Investitionsstil kann die Ölindustrie dienen: Der Anleger sollte nach Neffs Anlagephilosophie keine Aktien von Ölfirmen kaufen, wenn er stattdessen günstigere Aktien von Ölbohr-Maschinen erwerben kann.

Vergleich der Gebühren im Aktienhandel

Über das Moneyland-Magazin

Das Moneyland-Magazin informiert Sie kompetent und unabhängig über eine Vielzahl von Finanz- und Geldthemen. Neben Hintergrundartikeln und Interviews mit Experten finden Sie zahlreiche praktische Geldratgeber.

  • Radio 24
  • Radio 1
  • Tages-Anzeiger
  • Cash
  • SRF
  • NZZ
  • Handelszeitung
  • 20 Minuten
  • Bilanz
  • Finews