bill miller 1950

Bill Miller (* 1950)

Miller describes himself as a value investor and “stock picker”.

After his economics education at the Washington & Lee University, Bill Miller worked at J.E. Banker Co. In 1981 he founded the investment firm Legg Mason and has since been responsible for the Legg Mason Value Trust (LMVTX).

Under Millers aegis, the fund became one of the longest-running success stories in the history of mutual funds. The fund performed better than the S&P 500 index for 15 consecutive years (1991 to 2005).

Miller describes himself as a value investor. However, unlike value investment fundamentalists, he is convinced that all stocks may be bought as long as they are being traded below their intrinsic value.

Thorough research ahead of trades is key to Millers investment technique. He regularly analyzes stocks which the investor community considers to be overpriced to determine whether, despite the consensus, they are in fact being sold below their true value.

Although Miller’s fund is diversified, he remains a classical stock picker. In his opinion, the market reflects all relevant information, but not correctly.

According to Miller, market rates often fall below actual value following a bout of negative information and become over-valued when positive information is released.

Stock trading fees compared

About Moneyland Magazine

The moneyland.ch magazine provides accurate, unbiased information on topics related to finance and money. In addition to research and expert interviews, the magazine contains numerous financial guides.

Bill Miller (* 1950)

Miller betrachtet sich selbst als einen Value-Investor und «Stock Picker».

Nach seinem Wirtschaftsstudium an der Washington & Lee University arbeitete Bill Miller bei J. E. Baker Co. 1981 stiess er zur Investment-Firma Legg Mason und war seither verantwortlich für den Legg Mason Value Trust (LMVTX).

Unter Millers Ägide legte der Fund eine der längsten Erfolgsserien der Mutual-Fund-Geschichte hin: Zwischen 1991 und 2005 schlug er die Performance des S&P 500 in 15 aufeinander folgenden Jahren.

Miller betrachtet sich selbst als einen Value-Investor. Im Unterschied zu orthodoxen Value-Investoren ist er hingegen der Überzeugung, dass jede Aktie gekauft werden darf, wenn sie unter ihrem intrinsischen Wert gehandelt wird.

Millers Anlagetechnik setzt aufwändige Recherchen voraus. So analysiert er auch regelmässig Aktien, die von der Investoren-Gemeinde als zu teuer betrachtet werden, um zu untersuchen, ob sie allen Unkenrufen zum Trotz nicht doch unter ihrem inneren Preis liegen. 

Obwohl Miller in seinem Fund natürlich auch diversifiziert, ist er trotzdem ein klassischer Stock-Picker. Seiner Ansicht nach widerspiegelt der Markt zwar alle relevanten Informationen, aber eben nicht korrekt. Die Marktkurse lägen bei negativen Informationen üblicherweise zu tief, und bei positiven Informationen zu hoch, so Miller. 

Zum Vergleich der Aktienhandel-Gebühren

Über das Moneyland-Magazin

Das Moneyland-Magazin informiert Sie kompetent und unabhängig über eine Vielzahl von Finanz- und Geldthemen. Neben Hintergrundartikeln und Interviews mit Experten finden Sie zahlreiche praktische Geldratgeber.

  • Radio 24
  • Radio 1
  • Tages-Anzeiger
  • Cash
  • SRF
  • NZZ
  • Handelszeitung
  • 20 Minuten
  • Bilanz
  • Finews