Corner

In finance, “corner” and “cornering” describe the action of buying large amounts of a particular security or product with the goal of influencing its price. However, establishing a monopoly on those assets is not in the buyer’s best interest. By cornering a market, the investor aims to drive the value of specific products or securities up by making them scarce on the market. Once the price of assets goes up, the investor sells them at a profit.

Attempts by companies or associations at gaining a leading position in their market can also be a form of cornering, if it results in limited access to the product or its alternatives. Microsoft and IBM are prominent examples of companies that have successfully engaged in cornering.

Cornering is an established strategy at some stock exchanges. Traders buy particular securities or futures in large numbers and in so doing, they severely limit the quantities available on the market. In some cases, multiple traders or investors work together to achieve the purchase volumes necessary to corner a market.

The artificial scarcity of the cornered assets generally leads to increased demand and drives their value up. The goal is to sell the securities at a profit once rates have climbed substantially. But numerous historical examples show that cornering does not always work out as planned.

Cornering securities may be seen as market manipulation. As such, it is forbidden at some stock exchanges. Stock market offenses and abuses are defined by Swiss stock market laws which, in regard to insider trading and market manipulation, were updated on May 1, 2013. Potential offenses may be identified by the financial supervisory authority FINMA.

The term “corner” is often used in relation to futures. A market cornering can create a domino effect in which short-sellers are forced to buy the cornered stocks to cut their losses. This in turn drives the stock price even further upwards.

Take a look at this example: Stock market investors speculate on a slump in the prices of certain securities, and initiate a large amount of short sale positions for those securities. Other investors catch onto this and corner those securities by buying them in large numbers, creating an artificial shortage, with the objective of working against the interests of the short sellers.

The scarcity of the securities creates a disproportionately high demand for those securities on the market. This forces short sellers to buy the stocks they have shorted at any ask price to close their positions and avoid making even bigger losses. In stock market jargon, these short-selling investors have been the victims of a “short squeeze”.

More on this topic:
Online broker comparison: get free quotes now

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Corner

Der Begriff Corner oder auch Cornering meint den Kauf einer substantiellen Menge eines Wertpapiers oder einer Ware mit dem Ziel, den Preis zu beeinflussen. Es liegt jedoch nicht im Interesse der Käufer, ein Monopol zu etablieren. Vielmehr wird in der Regel darauf abgezielt, die Knappheit der aufgekauften Waren oder Wertpapiere markant zu erhöhen und damit den Preis in die Höhe zu treiben. Anschliessend kann dann die Ware zu einem höheren Preis wieder verkauft werden.

Auch Versuche von Unternehmen oder Gesellschaften, eine führende Stellung am Markt herbeizuführen, bezeichnet man bisweilen als Cornering. Voraussetzung ist dabei, dass die Ware oder vergleichbare Substitute nur begrenzt auf dem Markt verfügbar sind. Prominente Beispiele für Firmen, die erfolgreiches Cornering betreiben, sind IBM und Microsoft.

An verschiedenen Börsen ist das Cornern eine bekannte Methode: Börsianer kaufen eine grosse Menge von bestimmten Wertpapieren oder entsprechende Futures und sorgen so dafür, dass das Papier nicht mehr oder nur noch beschränkt verfügbar ist. Um ein Wertpapier oder eine Ware zu cornern, können sich mehrere Händler oder Anleger zusammenschliessen, damit das geforderte Investitionsvolumen erreicht wird.

Durch die künstlich herbeigeführte Knappheit steigt in der Regel die Nachfrage und somit auch der Kurs. Nach dem Kursanstieg werden die Wertpapiere wieder mit Gewinn abgestossen, so die Absicht. Der Plan kann aber auch gehörig schiefgehen, wie zahlreiche Beispiele der Börsengeschichte beweisen.

Das Cornern von Wertpapieren kann als Marktmanipulation angesehen werden. Entsprechend ist das Cornering in verschiedenen Märkten verboten. Börsendelikte und der Marktmissbrauch sind in der Schweiz im Börsengesetz verankert und am 1. Mai 2013 mit Bezug auf Insiderhandel und Marktmanipulationen erneuert worden. Im Verdachtsfall kann die Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA ermitteln.

Anstelle von «Corner» wird in der althergebrachten Börsensprache ausserdem von «Schwänze» oder «Klemme» gesprochen, häufig in Zusammenhang mit Leerverkäufen im Rahmen von Effekten- und Termingeschäften. Leerverkäufer (auch «Baissiers» oder «Fixer» genannt) müssen nach erfolgreichem «Schwänzen» der Gegenseite einen beliebig hohen Preis zahlen.

Ein Beispiel kann dies verdeutlichen: Anleger an der Börse, die auf eine Baisse spekulieren, tätigen eine hohe Anzahl Leerverkäufe als Termingeschäft. Andere Anleger können davon Wind kriegen und mit gezieltem Cornering den Interessen der Baissiers entgegenwirken, indem sie grosse Mengen der entsprechenden Wertschriften aufkaufen und so eine künstliche Knappheit herstellen.

Durch den Mangel der geforderten Papiere entsteht eine überhöhte Nachfrage am Markt, so dass die Baissiers nun jede Preisforderung erfüllen müssen. Oder in freier Börsensprache: die Fixer sind aufgeschwänzt worden.

Weitere Informationen:
Kostenloser Trading-Vergleich

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 80 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.