Corner

In finance, “corner” and “cornering” describe the action of buying large amounts of a particular security or product with the goal of influencing its price. However, establishing a monopoly on those assets is not in the buyer’s best interest. By cornering a market, the investor aims to drive the value of specific products or securities up by making them scarce on the market. Once the price of assets goes up, the investor sells them at a profit.

Attempts by companies or associations at gaining a leading position in their market can also be a form of cornering, if it results in limited access to the product or its alternatives. Microsoft and IBM are prominent examples of companies that have successfully engaged in cornering.

Cornering is an established strategy at some stock exchanges. Traders buy particular securities or futures in large numbers and in so doing, they severely limit the quantities available on the market. In some cases, multiple traders or investors work together to achieve the purchase volumes necessary to corner a market.

The artificial scarcity of the cornered assets generally leads to increased demand and drives their value up. The goal is to sell the securities at a profit once rates have climbed substantially. But numerous historical examples show that cornering does not always work out as planned.

Cornering securities may be seen as market manipulation. As such, it is forbidden at some stock exchanges. Stock market offenses and abuses are defined by Swiss stock market laws which, in regard to insider trading and market manipulation, were updated on May 1, 2013. Potential offenses may be identified by the financial supervisory authority FINMA.

The term “corner” is often used in relation to futures. A market cornering can create a domino effect in which short-sellers are forced to buy the cornered stocks to cut their losses. This in turn drives the stock price even further upwards.

Take a look at this example: Stock market investors speculate on a slump in the prices of certain securities, and initiate a large amount of short sale positions for those securities. Other investors catch onto this and corner those securities by buying them in large numbers, creating an artificial shortage, with the objective of working against the interests of the short sellers.

The scarcity of the securities creates a disproportionately high demand for those securities on the market. This forces short sellers to buy the stocks they have shorted at any ask price to close their positions and avoid making even bigger losses. In stock market jargon, these short-selling investors have been the victims of a “short squeeze”.

More on this topic:
Online broker comparison: get free quotes now

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Corner

La notion de corner ou de cornering correspond à l’achat d’une quantité substantielle d’un titre ou d’une marchandise avec pour objectif d’influencer le prix. Etablir un monopole n'est pourtant pas dans l’intérêt des acheteurs. Au contraire, l’objectif envisagé est généralement d’augmenter de façon considérable la pénurie des marchandises ou des titres achetés et donc de faire monter les prix. Finalement, la marchandise peut alors être revendue à un prix plus élevé.

Les tentatives d’entreprises ou de sociétés de provoquer une place de premier plan sur le marché sont également désignées de temps à autre comme cornering. La condition est que la marchandise ou les substituts comparables soient disponibles uniquement de façon limitée sur le marché. IBM et Microsoft sont des exemples éminents d’entreprises exerçant un cornering avec succès.

Le cornering est une méthode connue dans diverses bourses: les opérateurs boursiers achètent une grande quantité de titres particuliers ou des Futures correspondants et veillent à ce que le titre ne soit plus disponible ou seulement de façon limitée. Afin de réaliser le cornering d’un titre ou d’une marchandise, plusieurs négociants ou investisseurs peuvent s’associer afin que le volume d’investissement exigé soit atteint.

La demande et donc le cours augmentent généralement en raison de la pénurie provoquée artificiellement. L’intention est de revendre les titres suite à l’augmentation du cours, moyennant du gain. Cette stratégie peut cependant aussi échouer brutalement, comme le prouvent de nombreux exemples dans l’histoire de la Bourse.

Le cornering de titres peut être perçu comme une manipulation du marché. Il est par conséquent interdit dans divers marchés. Les infractions boursières et l’abus de marché sont ancrés en Suisse dans la loi sur les bourses et ont été renouvelés le 1er mai 2013 pour ce qui est du négoce pour initiés et des manipulations du marché. En cas de suspicion, l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers FINMA peut enquêter.

Dans le langage boursier, la notion de «cornering» est souvent liée aux ventes à découvert dans le cadre d’opérations sur titres et d’opérations à terme. Les vendeurs à découvert (également appelés «baissiers») doivent payer un prix d’un montant quelconque après avoir réussi à «sécher» la partie adverse.

Voici un exemple explicite: les investisseurs boursiers qui spéculent sur une baisse effectuent un nombre élevé de ventes à découvert comme opération à terme. D'autres investisseurs peuvent être au courant de ces pratiques et agir à l’encontre des intérêts des baissiers à l’aide d’un cornering ciblé, en achetant de grandes quantités de titres correspondants et en créant ainsi une pénurie artificielle.

Une demande excessive apparaît sur le marché en raison du manque de titres exigés, de telle manière que les baissiers doivent maintenant remplir chaque exigence tarifaire. Dans un langage boursier imagé, on peut dire que les baissiers ont été séchés.

Informations complémentaires:
Bourse en ligne: comparatif
Comparatif suisse du trading Forex

Au sujet de moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch est le service comparatif suisse indépendant pour les banques, les assurances et les télécoms. Sur moneyland.ch, vous trouvez plus de 70 comparatifs et calculateurs neutres, des guides utiles et des actualités. Les outils de comparaison complets vous permettent de trouver les bons prestataires dans les domaines des assurances, des caisses maladie, des comptes bancaires, des cartes, des crédits, des hypothèques, de la bourse en ligne et des télécoms.