jesselivermore

Jesse Livermore (1877-1940)

Wall Street legend Jesse Livermore’s spectacular stock market antics helped him reap fabled profits, but his losses are nearly as legendary.

Jesse L. Livermore began his self-made career in trading at Paine Weber, a Boston brokerage firm.

At the age of 20 he moved to New York, where he quickly achieved fame on Wall Street. His fantastic speculations reaped massive profits, but also led to tremendous losses. At the age of 63, depression led him to take his own life.

Livermore was primarily a long-term investor who preferred to invest in entire markets than in individual shares. As such, he attempted to predict probable rate fluctuations of entire markets and to invest accordingly.

This logic led him to go short just ahead of the stock market crashes of 1907 and 1929, earning him a tremendous amount of wealth – which he used for further speculation.

In spite of his outstanding tolerance for risk, Livermore placed a strong emphasis on company and market research. For Livermore, the difference between successful and disastrous investors could be pinned down to a lack of adequate research.

Stock trading fees compared

About Moneyland Magazine

The moneyland.ch magazine provides accurate, unbiased information on topics related to finance and money. In addition to research and expert interviews, the magazine contains numerous financial guides.

Jesse Livermore (1877-1940)

Mit aufsehenerregenden Spekulationen erwirtschaftete die Wall-Street-Legende Jesse Livermore sagenhafte Gewinne, fuhr aber auch sagenhafte Verluste ein.

Jesse L. Livermore begann seiner Trader-Karriere als Selfmademan beim Broker «Paine Webber» in Boston.

Mit 20 Jahren zog er nach New York, wo er an der Wall Street rasch grosse Berühmtheit erlangte. Mit aufsehenerregenden Spekulationen erwirtschaftete er sagenhafte Gewinne, fuhr bei anderen Spekulationen aber auch sagenhafte Verluste ein. Im Alter von 63 Jahren nahm er sich aufgrund von Depressionen das Leben. 

Livermore war grundsätzlich ein Long-Term-Investor, der eher in ganze Märkte als in einzelne Aktien investierte. Demzufolge versuchte er, wahrscheinliche Kursbewegungen ganzer Märkte abzuschätzen und seine Investitionen entsprechend zu realisieren.

So ging er vor den Börsenkrisen 1907 und 1929 short und machte damit ein riesiges Vermögen – das er anschliessend aber jeweils wieder verspekulierte.

Trotz seiner hohen Risikotoleranz steckte Jesse Livermore viel Arbeit in aufwändige Firmen- und Marktrecherchen. Für Livermore war der Unterschied zwischen erfolgreichen und erfolglosen Anlegern nicht zuletzt auch im investierten oder eben fehlenden Recherche-Aufwand zu suchen.

Vergleich der Gebühren im Aktienhandel

Über das Moneyland-Magazin

Das Moneyland-Magazin informiert Sie kompetent und unabhängig über eine Vielzahl von Finanz- und Geldthemen. Neben Hintergrundartikeln und Interviews mit Experten finden Sie zahlreiche praktische Geldratgeber.