Disagio

A disagio is a negative difference between the face value of a security or loan and its actual, lower price. The term is often used in relation to personal loans and bonds. An agio, on the other hand, is a positive difference between the face value of a security or loan and its actual, higher market value.

A disagio is normally shown as a percentage of face value.

Example: A 4% disagio is applied to a 1000-franc loan. So the borrower only receives 960 francs (1000 – 4%*1000) paid out.

A disagio makes a loan more expensive for a borrower. Disagios are not accounted for in nominal interest rates, which are based on the higher face value. Because of this, they can potentially add a “hidden” cost to a loan. However, disagios are accounted for in effective annual interest rates.

More information:
Trading comparison
Private banking comparison
How to buy stocks: best trading tips

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Disagio

Disagio («Abschlag» oder «Abgeld») bezeichnet den Unterschied zwischen dem Nennwert eines Wertpapiers oder Darlehens und dem realen, tieferen Preis. Oft kommt der Begriff im Zusammenhang mit Konsumkrediten und Anleihen zur Anwendung. Agio hingegen ist ein Aufpreis auf den Nennwert.

Disagio wird in der Regel in Prozent zum Nennwert angegeben.

Beispiel: Ein Kredit von 1000 Franken wird mit einem Disagio von 4% belegt. Folglich werden dem Kreditnehmer nur 960 Franken (1000 – 4%*1000) ausgezahlt.

Aus Sicht eines Darlehensnehmers (Schuldners) verteuert sich das Darlehen im Fall eines Disagios. Das Disagio stellt für den Darlehensnehmer oft ein «versteckter» Kostenpunkt dar, da das Disagio nicht im Nominalzins enthalten ist (dieser berechnet sich auf dem höheren Nennwert).  Während das Disagio nicht im Nominalzins berücksichtigt wird, ist es im effektiven Jahreszins enthalten.

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 80 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.