migros cumulus mastercard samsung pay switzerland

Migros Cumulus Mastercard Now Compatible with Samsung Pay

Banking, General News, 13.12.2018
The Migros Cumulus Mastercard can now be used with Samsung Pay. Get more information in this moneyland.ch report.

The Migros Cumulus Mastercard issued by Cembra Money Bank is the most widely used credit card in Switzerland. Up until now, the card has not been compatible with Samsung Pay. Other credit cards from Cembra Money Bank have been compatible since February 2018.

Now, Migros has given Cembra Money Bank the green light to add Samsung Pay compatibility to its card. The recent introduction of a competing no-annual-fee credit card in the form of the Swisscard Cashback credit card which is compatible with both Samsung Pay and Apple Pay may be a possible reason for this change of heart.

No Apple Pay compatibility as of yet

The Migros Cumulus Mastercard is, as of yet, not compatible with Apple Pay. Unlike Samsung, Apple charges card issuers transactions fees when cardholders charge purchases to their cards using Apple Pay. Because Apple Pay adds an extra cost to transactions, Swiss card issuers will only hop onto the Apple Pay bandwagon when they believe doing so offers a marketing advantage or in the event that Apple Pay becomes important to their customer base.

“Currently, neither Apple Pay nor Samsung Pay play a significant role in the Swiss payment system,” according to moneyland.ch CEO Benjamin Manz. However, it is likely that mobile payments will become more significant in the future.

Credits card which can be used with Samsung Pay

These issuers offer Samsung Pay compatibility on some or all of their credit cards and prepaid cards: Cornèrcard, Bonuscard, Cembra Money Bank, Swisscard and Swiss Bankers.

However, many popular Swiss credit cards and prepaid cards cannot currently be used to spend with Samsung Pay. These include credit cards from PostFinance, UBS, Credit Suisse and Viseca.

You can easily find out whether payment cards are compatible with Samsung Pay, Apple Pay, Fitbit Pay or Garmin Pay using the filters included in the interactive credit card comparison on moneyland.ch.

More on this topic:
Unbiased credit card comparison

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

migros cumulus mastercard samsung pay

Migros Cumulus-Mastercard neu mit Samsung Pay

Die Migros Cumulus-Mastercard ist nun ebenfalls kompatibel mit Samsung Pay. Lesen Sie im Folgenden die Analyse von moneyland.ch.

Die Migros Cumulus-Mastercard der Kartenherausgeberin Cembra Money Bank ist die wohl häufigste Schweizer Kreditkarte. Bislang war die Karte nicht kompatibel mit Samsung Pay. Dies im Unterschied zu anderen Kreditkarten, die von Cembra Money Bank herausgegeben werden: Diese hatten bereits ab Februar 2018 Samsung Pay integriert.

Nun hat also auch die Migros als Kartenpartner der Cembra Money Bank grünes Licht für Samsung Pay gegeben. Ein Grund für das Einlenken könnte durch den Umstand begründet sein, dass die Konkurrenz-Firma Swisscard AECS mit der Cashback-Kreditkarte eine neue attraktive Gratiskreditkarte lanciert hat, die mit Apple Pay und Samsung Pay kompatibel ist.

Apple Pay für Cumulus-Mastercard weiterhin gesperrt

Apple Pay ist für die Inhaber der Migros Cumulus-Mastercard weiterhin nicht möglich. Im Unterschied zu Samsung Pay müssen die Kartenherausgeber an Apple Transaktionsgebühren entrichten. Schweizer Kartenherausgeber springen deshalb erst dann auf den Apple-Pay-Zug auf, wenn sie sich daraus einen Marketing-Vorteil erhoffen oder aufgrund der Wichtigkeit von Apple Pay dazu gezwungen werden.

«Zurzeit spielen weder Apple Pay noch Samsung Pay eine signifikante Rolle im Schweizer Bezahlsystem», so Benjamin Manz, Geschäftsführer von moneyland.ch. In der Zukunft werden aber mobile Zahlungen immer wichtiger werden.

Kreditkarten mit Samsung Pay

Mit Samsung Pay kompatibel sind mittlerweile Kreditkarten von folgenden Herausgebern (wenn jeweils auch nicht immer alle Kreditkarten): Cornèrcard, Bonuscard, Cembra Money Bank, Swisscard und Swiss Bankers.

Mit vielen wichtigen Schweizer Kreditkarten und Prepaidkarten kann allerdings noch nicht mit Samsung Pay bezahlt werden: Dazu gehören die Karten von PostFinance, UBS, Credit Suisse und Viseca.

Übrigens: Im unabhängigen Vergleich für Kreditkarten und Prepaidkarten von moneyland.ch können Sie sich via Filterkriterien alle Karten anzeigen lassen, die mit Samsung Pay, Apple Pay, Fitbit Pay oder Garmin Pay kompatibel sind.

Weitere Informationen:
Kreditkarten im neutralen Vergleich

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 80 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.