Upstream

Telecom

The term upstream, as used in regards to data connections and the Internet, denotes the speeds at which data is transferred from an end user device to a data server through a data connection. The term is most widely used in reference to Internet speed.

Upstream speeds are normally measured in bits per second (bps), with the most common measurements used being kilobits per second (Kbps), megabits per second (Mbps) and gigabits per second (Gbps).

The opposite of upstream is downstream – the flow of data from a data server to an end user device.

High upstream speeds are beneficial to digital device users who transfer large amounts of data from their devices to Internet servers. This is the case, for example, if you upload videos to streaming services like Youtube or backup large amounts of data to cloud-based storage.

Many telecom service providers in Switzerland offer asymmetrical broadband Internet connections with downstream speeds which are higher or much higher than their upstream speeds. Asymmetrical plans are disadvantageous to users who upload large amounts of data because uploading takes longer than downloading. Some Swiss broadband Internet plans are Symmetrical, meaning upstream and downstream speeds are identical.

More on this topic:
Unbiased Swiss broadband Internet plan comparison

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Upstream

Telekom

Der Begriff «Upstream» bezeichnet den Prozess beziehungsweise den «Fluss» oder die Richtung der Übertragung von Daten von einem Nutzer hin zum Server. In der Regel wird der Begriff «Upstream» im Zusammenhang mit der Internet-Geschwindigkeit verwendet.

Der Upstream wird in bit/s beziehungsweise in Mbit/s oder Gbit/s angegeben. Der Gegenbegriff zum Upstream ist der Downstream.

Insbesondere für die Nutzung von Cloud-Services oder das Heraufladen von Dateien wie Videos auf YouTube ist eine möglichst hohe Upstream-Geschwindigkeit nützlich.

Viele Telekom-Anbieter bieten in der Schweiz asymmetrische Internet-Abos an. Diese Abos sind ein Nachteil für Kunden, die oft Daten ins Internet übertragen. Denn bei asymmetrischen Internet-Abos ist der Upstream viel langsamer als der Downstream. Einige Telekom-Anbieter offerieren jedoch auch symmetrische Internet-Abos, bei denen die Downstream- und die Upstream-Geschwindigkeit gleich hoch sind.

Weitere Informationen:
Internet-Abos im unabhängigen Schweizer Vergleich

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 80 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.