Warren Buffett (* 1930)

Warren Buffett is considered one of the most outstanding and successful investors of our time. The «Oracle of Omaha» or «Sage of Omaha» – as Buffett is also called – is furthermore one of the most prominent representatives of value investing.

After reading «The Intelligent Investor», he studied under the author and university professor Benjamin Graham at Columbia University in New York until 1951. Graham’s teachings strongly influenced Buffett and – according to himself – changed his investment philosophy as well as his life significantly.

After his study years, Buffet worked as seller of shares at «Buffett-Falk & Company» until 1954 and then as equity analyst in the Graham-Newman Corporation of his role model and mentor Benjamin Graham in New York. In 1956, he founded his own asset management company in Omaha, with a starting capital of USD 100,000 – which he liquidated in 1969.

Between 1956 and 1969, his clients could increase their assets 30-fold. In 1965, Buffett purchased the textile company Berkshire Hathaway, which he then expanded to a holding for various stakes. He offered the clients of his previous asset management the possibility of investing their funds in Berkshire shares at USD 43 per share. Until today, Buffet holds more than a quarter of all shares himself. 

Buffett is a classical value investor and, as such, largely stayed faithful to Graham’s principles. He analyses the key data of a company in order to define the net asset value of a share. If the stock price is below the net asset value, a purchasing potential exists. Thereby, Buffet only invests in companies with a business model he understands – for example insurance companies – and with a management that he deems capable.

About Moneyland Magazine

The Moneyland Magazine helps you find your way around the finance jungle and informs you about a variety of financial topics. Apart from background articles and interviews with experts, you also benefit from tips helping you with your financial needs.

  • Radio 24
  • Radio 1
  • Tages-Anzeiger
  • Cash
  • SRF
  • NZZ
  • Handelszeitung
  • 20 Minuten
  • Bilanz
  • Finews

Warren Buffett (* 1930)

Warren Buffett gilt als einer der herausragendsten und erfolgreichsten Investoren unserer Zeit. Das «Orakel von Omaha» – wie Buffett auch genannt wird – ist überdies einer der profiliertesten Vertreter des Value-Invest-Ansatzes.

Nach der Lektüre des Buchs «The Intelligent Investor» studierte er beim Autor und Universitätsprofessor Benjamin Graham an der Columbia University in New York bis 1951. Die Lehre von Graham beeinflusste Buffett stark und hat nach Buffetts eigenen Angaben sowohl seine Anlagephilosophie als auch sein Leben nachhaltig verändert.

Nach seinen Studienjahren arbeitete Buffett in der «Buffett-Falk & Company» als Aktienverkäufer bis 1954 und anschliessend von 1954 bis 1956 als Aktienanalyst in der Graham-Newman Corporation seines Vorbilds und Mentors Benjamin Graham in New York. 1956 gründete er in Omaha seine eigene Vermögensverwaltung mit einem Startkapital von 100'000 US-Dollar, die er 1969 auflöste.

Seine Kunden konnten zwischen 1956 und 1969 ihre Vermögen verdreissigfachen. 1965 kaufte Buffett die Textilfirma Berkshire Hathaway auf, die er anschliessend zur Holding für diverse Beteiligungen erweiterte. Den Kunden seiner früheren Vermögensverwaltung offerierte er die Möglichkeit, die angelegten Gelder in Berkshire-Aktien zum Kurs von 43 US-Dollar pro Aktie zu investieren. Buffett selbst hält bis heute über einen Viertel der Aktien.

Buffett ist ein klassischer Value Investor und als solcher den Prinzipien von Graham weitgehend treu geblieben. Er analysiert also die Unternehmenskennzahlen einer Firma, um den inneren Wert einer Aktie zu bestimmen. Liegt der Aktienkurs unter dem inneren Wert, besteht ein Kaufpotenzial. Dabei investiert Buffett nur in Firmen mit Geschäftsmodellen, die er versteht – wie zum Beispiel Versicherungsgesellschaften – und dessen Management er für fähig hält.

Über das Moneyland-Magazin

Das Moneyland-Magazin informiert Sie kompetent und unabhängig über eine Vielzahl von Finanz- und Geldthemen. Neben Hintergrundartikeln und Interviews mit Experten finden Sie zahlreiche praktische Geldratgeber.

  • Radio 24
  • Radio 1
  • Tages-Anzeiger
  • Cash
  • SRF
  • NZZ
  • Handelszeitung
  • 20 Minuten
  • Bilanz
  • Finews