Leasing

The term “leasing” denotes a transaction in which the owner of a specific piece of property makes that property available to another person or entity at a predefined interest rate. Instead of money being lent out – as is the case with loans – the loan is made up of property.

Cars and motorcycles are the type of property most commonly lent out using a lease. The term “consumer lease” refers to leases in which property (electronics, cars, furniture) is leased for personal use.

Leases of consumer goods with a value of between 500 and 80,000 Swiss francs are governed by Swiss consumer credit laws. As such, they are subject to the same rules and maximum interest rates which apply to cash loans, and lease contracts can be canceled within the first 14 days after signing.

Leases of investment property which serves business purposes are not subject to consumer credit laws.

Leasing is often confused with renting, but there are a few key differences. The person borrowing the property (the “lessee”) is often given the right to purchase the leased property at the end of the lease term, which is not normally the case with rentals. The lessee is generally required to cover the cost of maintaining the leased property, while maintenance costs are normally covered by the property’s owner in the case of rentals.

More on this topic:
Leasing calculator
Leasing cars vs buying cars
Swiss car leasing calculator

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 70 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Leasing

Bei einem Leasing überlässt der Leasinggeber dem Leasingnehmer das Leasingobjekt zu einem definierten Zinssatz. Im Unterschied zu einem klassischen Kredit wird beim Leasing nicht Geld, sondern ein Gegenstand oder Objekt ausgeliehen.

Am bekanntesten sind in der Schweiz Leasing-Verträge für Fahrzeuge wie Autos und Motorräder. Werden die Leasing-Gegenstände (wie Möbel, Elektronik oder ein Auto) für die private Verwendung geleast, spricht man auch von Konsumgüter-Leasing.

Leasing von Konsumgütern in der Höhe von 500 bis 80'000 Franken sind in der Schweiz dem Konsumkredit-Gesetz unterstellt. Das heisst, es gilt der gleiche Höchstzinssatz wie bei Barkrediten – zurzeit also ein effektiver Jahreszinssatz von 10% pro Jahr. Auch besteht ein Widerrufsrecht innerhalb der ersten 14 Tage nach Abschluss des Leasing-Vertrags.

Nicht dem Konsumkredit-Gesetz unterstellt sind Leasing-Verträge im Bereich Investitionsgüter, die gewerblichen Zwecken dienen.

Ein Leasing ähnelt einer Miete – mit einigen Unterschieden. So hat der Leasingnehmer im Fall eines Leasings nicht selten das Recht, das Leasing-Objekt am Ende der Leasing-Laufzeit zum vereinbarten Preis zu kaufen. Auch sind bei einem Leasing die Kosten für den Unterhalt des Leasing-Objekts vom Leasingnehmer zu tragen – bei einer Miete werden diese in der Regel mehrheitlich vom Vermieter übernommen.

Weitere Informationen:
Leasing-Rechner
Auto-Leasing vs. Kredit
Autoleasing-Rechner Schweiz

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 70 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.