Forex

The terms “forex” and “FX” are abbreviated forms of the term “foreign exchange” and refer to the worldwide currency exchange market.

Forex trading is not centered around specific physical exchanges, so currency can be traded 24 hours a day, 5 days per week. The forex market is the largest and most fluid trade market in the world, with a daily turnover of more than 5 billion U.S. dollars.

Because the forex market is decentralized, it cannot be controlled by a single institution. While the value of a stock represents the value of a single company, the value of a currency is, at least in part, dictated by the theoretical value of the entire country which issues it. For this reason, currencies are more difficult to valuate than stocks.

Currency trading (popularly called forex trading) is multifaceted and serves many different purposes. For example, a company may use a currency swap to protect its income or expenses from currency fluctuations. Other market participants trade in forex based on pure speculation.

Because exchange rates normally experience only moderate fluctuations, forex traders typically make use of leveraging. The leverage effect can greatly multiply profits, but likewise, it also greatly increases potential losses.

Example:

A euro to Swiss franc exchange rate of EURCHF = 1.0939 means that a trader receives 1.0939 Swiss francs for each euro they sell. If the forex trader exchanges 10,000 euros for Swiss francs at this rate, they receive 10,939 Swiss francs.

If the rate were to drop by 19 pips to EURCHF = 1.0920 over several hours, the trader could exchange their 10,939 francs for 10,017 euros. In this example, the forex trader would make a profit of 17 euros. If, on the other hand, the rate climbed to EURCHF = 1.0956, they would make a loss of around 16 euros.

Today, online brokers make it easy to participate in forex trading, and are growing in popularity.

More on this topic:
Forex calculator: profits and losses
Forex calculator: position size
Forex calculator: stop loss & take profit
Forex pip calculator
Forex broker comparison
Online broker comparison: get free quotes now

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Forex

Unter dem Begriff «Forex» oder «FX» (englische Abkürzung für «Foreign Exchange Market») versteht man den weltweiten Währungsmarkt (Devisenmarkt).

Der Forex-Handel ist nicht zentralisiert und deswegen 24 Stunden an 5 Tagen in der Woche offen. Der Forex-Markt ist der liquideste und grösste Handelsmarkt der Welt mit einem täglichen Handelsumsatz von durchschnittlich mehr als 5 Billionen US-Dollar.

Die Dezentralisierung des Forex-Markts hat zur Folge, dass der Handel nicht von einer einzigen Institution kontrolliert werden kann. Während der Wert einer Aktie den Wert eines Unternehmens repräsentiert, bildet eine Landeswährung zumindest teilweise den theoretischen Wert einer Währungsnation ab und ist entsprechend schwieriger zu bewerten.

Der Devisenhandel (oder Forex-Trading) ist vielseitig und wird von verschiedenen Marktteilnehmern genutzt. So können Firmen ihre Einkünfte oder Kosten in Fremdwährungen mit einem Währungsswap vor Wechselkursschwankungen absichern. Andere Marktteilnehmer wiederum nutzen den Devisenhandel zur reinen Spekulation.

Da Wechselkurse gewöhnlich nur kleine Schwankungen aufweisen, werden im Forex-Trading in der Regel Hebel eingesetzt (so genanntes Leveraging). Durch Hebel können Gewinne vervielfacht werden. Das Verlustrisiko nimmt aber ebenfalls entsprechend zu.

Beispiel:

Ein Wechselkurs betrage EURCHF = 1.0939. Für einen Euro erhält der Trader also 1.0939 Schweizer Franken. Wenn nun ein Forex-Trader 10'000 Euro in Franken umtauscht, erhält er 10'939 Schweizer Franken.

Wenn der Kurs in einigen Stunden um 19 Pips auf EURCHF = 1.0920 fällt, erhält der Trader für seine 10'939 Franken neu rund 10'017 Euro. Er hat also in diesem Beispiel einen Gewinn von 17 Euro erwirtschaftet. Wenn der Kurs hingegen auf EURCHF = 1.0956 ansteigt, erleidet er einen Verlust von rund 16 Euro.

Online-Broker ermöglichen heutzutage einen einfacheren Zugang zum Forex-Markt und erfreuen sich einer wachsenden Beliebtheit.

Weitere Informationen:
Forex-Rechner: Gewinn und Verlust
Forex-Rechner: Positionsgrösse
Forex-Rechner: Stop Loss und Take Profit
Pip-Rechner
Online-Trading: interaktiver Vergleich
Forex-Trading in der Schweiz
Was ist ein Pip?

Über moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch ist der unabhängige Schweizer Online-Vergleichsdienst für Banken, Versicherungen und Telekom. Auf moneyland.ch finden Sie mehr als 80 neutrale Vergleiche und Rechner, hilfreiche Geldratgeber und aktuelle News. Die umfassenden Vergleichstools helfen Ihnen, den richtigen Anbieter in den Bereichen Versicherungen, Krankenkassen, Bankkonten, Karten, Kredite, Hypotheken, Trading und Telekom zu finden.