Forex

The terms “forex” and “FX” are abbreviated forms of the term “foreign exchange” and refer to the worldwide currency exchange market.

Forex trading is not centered around specific physical exchanges, so currency can be traded 24 hours a day, 5 days per week. The forex market is the largest and most fluid trade market in the world, with a daily turnover of more than 5 billion U.S. dollars.

Because the forex market is decentralized, it cannot be controlled by a single institution. While the value of a stock represents the value of a single company, the value of a currency is, at least in part, dictated by the theoretical value of the entire country which issues it. For this reason, currencies are more difficult to valuate than stocks.

Currency trading (popularly called forex trading) is multifaceted and serves many different purposes. For example, a company may use a currency swap to protect its income or expenses from currency fluctuations. Other market participants trade in forex based on pure speculation.

Because exchange rates normally experience only moderate fluctuations, forex traders typically make use of leveraging. The leverage effect can greatly multiply profits, but likewise, it also greatly increases potential losses.

Example:

A euro to Swiss franc exchange rate of EURCHF = 1.0939 means that a trader receives 1.0939 Swiss francs for each euro they sell. If the forex trader exchanges 10,000 euros for Swiss francs at this rate, they receive 10,939 Swiss francs.

If the rate were to drop by 19 pips to EURCHF = 1.0920 over several hours, the trader could exchange their 10,939 francs for 10,017 euros. In this example, the forex trader would make a profit of 17 euros. If, on the other hand, the rate climbed to EURCHF = 1.0956, they would make a loss of around 16 euros.

Today, online brokers make it easy to participate in forex trading, and are growing in popularity.

More on this topic:
Forex calculator: profits and losses
Forex calculator: position size
Forex calculator: stop loss & take profit
Forex pip calculator
Forex broker comparison
Online broker comparison: get free quotes now

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Forex

La notion de «forex» ou «FX» (abréviation anglaise de «foreign exchange market») désigne le marché mondial des devises.

Le négoce sur le forex n'est pas centralisé et donc ouvert 24 heures sur 24 5 jours durant la semaine. Le marché du forex est le marché commercial le plus grand et contenant le plus de liquidités au monde, avec un volume quotidien de transactions de plus de 5 milliards de dollars américains en moyenne.

La décentralisation du marché du forex a comme conséquence que le négoce ne peut pas être contrôlé par une institution unique. Alors que la valeur d’une action représente la valeur d’une entreprise, une monnaie nationale représente du moins partiellement la valeur théorique d’une nation monétaire, étant donc plus difficile à évaluer.

Le négoce de devises (ou forex trading) est diversifié et utilisé par divers acteurs du marché. Des entreprises peuvent ainsi prévenir leurs revenus ou coûts en devises étrangères contre les fluctuations de taux de change avec un swap de devises. D’autres acteurs du marché utilisent à leur tour le négoce des devises à des fins de pure spéculation.

Etant donné que les cours de change ne présentent habituellement que de faibles fluctuations, un effet de levier (que l’on nomme également «leveraging») est généralement mis en œuvre dans le négoce sur le forex. L’effet de levier permet de multiplier les gains. Le risque de subir une perte augmente également en conséquence.

Exemple:

un taux de change s’élève à EURCHF = 1,0939. Pour un euro, le trader reçoit donc 1.0939 franc suisse. Lorsqu’un trader sur le forex échange 10’000 euros en francs, il reçoit 10’939 francs suisses.

Lorsque le cours tombe en l’espace de quelques heures de 19 pips à EURCHF = 1,0920, le trader reçoit pour ses 10’939 francs près de 10’017 euros. Dans cet exemple, il a alors réalisé un gain de 17 euros. Lorsque le cours augmente au contraire à EURCHF = 1,0956, il subit une perte de près de 16 euros.

Les brokers en ligne permettent aujourd’hui un accès facilité au marché du forex et jouissent d’une popularité croissante.

Informations complémentaires:
Calculateur Forex: profit et perte
Calculateur de la taille de position Forex
Calculateur Forex: Stop loss et take profit
Calculateur de pip
Bourse en ligne: comparatif
Forex trading: comparatif
Acheter des actions: conseils

Au sujet de moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch est le service comparatif suisse indépendant pour les banques, les assurances et les télécoms. Sur moneyland.ch, vous trouvez plus de 80 comparatifs et calculateurs neutres, des guides utiles et des actualités. Les outils de comparaison complets vous permettent de trouver les bons prestataires dans les domaines des assurances, des caisses maladie, des comptes bancaires, des cartes, des crédits, des hypothèques, de la bourse en ligne et des télécoms.