Buy and Hold

The buy and hold investment strategy involves keeping the same securities and investment products in your portfolio for the longest possible amount of time.

Buy-and-hold investment is a passive strategy by which investors aim to share the long-term success of an index, a set of securities, or (in the case of stocks) a company.

By using this strategy, you avoid having to manage regular trades and the trading fees that come with them. A popular German stock market motto highlights this fact as follows: “Hin and her macht Taschen leer” which literally means that trading too regularly will leave your pocketbook bare. In Switzerland in particular, high brokerage fees continue to make stock market transactions expensive.

Aside from the lower costs involved, the advantage of buy and hold versus more short-term strategies is that your investments are less vulnerable to temporary or unforeseeable market fluctuations.

The one setback is that the ideal point in time during which to buy your securities only becomes obvious after the fact. Guide: Nobody knows exactly how high or how low rates can fall, or for how long. However, over a period of many years, stock market rates always trend in one direction – up.

Because of these advantages, buy and hold strategies are considered by many financial analysts and investors to be the optimal way to securely grow your wealth. Short-term strategies are, as far as far-sighted investors are concerned, nothing but high-risk speculations.

Investors and traders who are in it for the short-haul, on the other hand, cite a number of drawbacks to buy and hold investment. For one thing, long-haul investors cannot react to and take advantage of short-term market trends. Buy and hold investments can also be highly dependent on the positive business development of a specific company when investments are not distributed across a diverse portfolio.

Another possible disadvantage of the buy and hold strategy is that making long-term market predictions is becoming increasingly difficult. Up until now, market rates have always climbed over the long-term. But nobody can guarantee that things will remain that way over the next 20, 30 or 40 years.

What is known is that as an investor looking to use the buy and hold strategy successfully, you will need both large amounts of patience and be able to afford tying up money in long-term investments without falling short elsewhere. Because of these factors, long-term investment is best suited to people who already have a fair amount of assets which they could, in the worst case, live without.

More on this topic:
Compare broker fees

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 70 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Buy and Hold

Le terme «buy and hold» indique une stratégie d’investissement pour laquelle l’investisseur tient particulièrement à garder ses propres titres et produits de placement dans son portefeuille pour un temps préférablement long.

Il s’agit d’un investissement buy and hold, c’est-à-dire d’une stratégie passive qui a pour but de participer au succès d’un indice, d’un titre ou d’une entreprise (dans le cas d’une action).

Les achats et les ventes constants de titres et les frais de transaction qui y sont liés sont ainsi évités. Une boutade connue dans le milieu de la bourse souligne cette vérité: «trop d’agitation vous vide les poches».

En Suisse en particulier, les transactions en bourse sont toujours aussi chères à cause des frais élevés des charges de courtage.

Les avantages de «buy and hold» par rapport aux stratégies d’investissement à court terme sont, en plus des frais de transactions moindres, une indépendance vis-à-vis des variations imprévisibles à court terme du marché.

S’y ajoute le fait qu’on ne peut reconnaître qu’après coup le moment d‘entrée opportun. En d’autres termes, personne ne sait exactement quand et de quel montant les cours de titres individuels ou de marchés vont augmenter ou baisser. En revanche, la tendance à la bourse va toujours à la hausse à long terme.

Sur la base de cet avantage, la stratégie de «buy and hold» est considérée comme la méthode optimale par beaucoup d’économistes et d’investisseurs pour augmenter leur fortune. Les stratégies à court terme ne sont que des spéculations risquées aux yeux des investisseurs qui privilégient le long terme.

Les investisseurs à court terme et les courtiers voient cependant des désavantages en ce qui concerne les stratégies d’investissements à long terme. Ainsi, les investisseurs à long terme ne peuvent pas réagir rapidement aux changements de tendances du marché. De plus, les partisans du buy and hold sont dépendants du développement positif d’une entreprise donnée, tout du moins s’ils investissent dans une seule action de façon non diversifiée.

Un autre désavantage possible du «buy and hold» consiste en ce qu’il est de plus en plus difficile de faire des pronostics non seulement à court terme, mais aussi à long terme. Historiquement, les indices des bourses ont certes toujours augmenté à long terme. Mais qui sait si cela sera aussi le cas pour les prochains 20, 30 ou 40 ans?

Une chose est certaine: l’investisseur doit faire preuve d’une bonne dose de patience pour avoir du succès avec la stratégie buy and hold et ne pas avoir besoin à d’autres fins du capital investi à long terme. Pour cette raison, les investissements à long terme sont particulièrement adaptés pour les personnes possèdant un socle de fortune auquel elles peuvent aussi renoncer dans le pire des cas.

Pour plus d'informations:
Comparatif de trading

Au sujet de moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch est le service comparatif suisse indépendant pour les banques, les assurances et les télécoms. Sur moneyland.ch, vous trouvez plus de 70 comparatifs et calculateurs neutres, des guides utiles et des actualités. Les outils de comparaison complets vous permettent de trouver les bons prestataires dans les domaines des assurances, des caisses maladie, des comptes bancaires, des cartes, des crédits, des hypothèques, de la bourse en ligne et des télécoms.