Slippage

In stock market jargon, the term slippage is used to describe the difference between the price which an investor wants to pay for a security, and the actual average price at which the securities broker completes the full trade. The term is widely used in day trading, particularly with regards to CFD and forex trading.

Example: A forex trader orders their broker to purchase the EUR/CHF currency pair at the rate of 1.1671 CHF. However, the broker is only able to fill the order at 1.1679 CHF instead of the desired 1.1671 CHF. In this case the slippage is 8 pips. The trader must pay more than they anticipated for the investment.

The risk of slippage is generally higher in volatile markets in which prices are subject to frequent, drastic changes. However, ongoing high slippage can also hint at incompetence on the part of the broker or even a deliberate attempt by a broker to profit at the expense of its customers.

Market orders bear a particularly high possibility of slippage because transactions are performed at the best available offer. In this case, the broker buys or sells securities at the best price they are offered (or claim to they have been offered). Limit orders provide one way to limit slippage by preventing trades from being performed at a price lower than that specified by the investor.

More on this topic:
Swiss CFD broker comparison
Swiss forex broker comparison

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.

Slippage

Le terme «slippage» est utilisé dans le jargon boursier pour décrire la différence entre le prix que le trader souhaite et le prix au moment de l’exécution effective du passage d’ordre (payé) par le courtier. Le terme est particulièrement courant dans le day trading, y compris dans le négoce des CFD et du Forex.

Exemple: un trader veut acheter la paire de devises EUR/CHF au cours de 1.1671 CHF et passe un ordre auprès du courtier. Toutefois, le courtier exécute l'ordre effectif à 1.1679 CHF au lieu de 1.1671 CHF. Dans ce cas on parle d'un slippage de 8 pips. Le trader paie donc plus qu'il ne l'avait initialement prévu.

Le risque de slippage est généralement plus élevé sur des marchés volatils où les prix changent rapidement. Un slippage élevé peut cependant aussi être un indice qu’on a à faire à un mauvais courtier ou à un courtier douteux qui s'enrichit aux dépens du client.

La probabilité de slippage est particulièrement élevée pour les ordres de marché, car ils sont exécutés au «meilleur» prix. C'est à dire que le courtier achète ou vend au «meilleur» prix qu'il trouve ou prétend trouver. Les ordres à cours limité représentent une possibilité d’éviter le slippage.

Pour plus d’informations:
Courtier CFD en Suisse
Courtier Forex en Suisse

Au sujet de moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch est le service comparatif suisse indépendant pour les banques, les assurances et les télécoms. Sur moneyland.ch, vous trouvez plus de 80 comparatifs et calculateurs neutres, des guides utiles et des actualités. Les outils de comparaison complets vous permettent de trouver les bons prestataires dans les domaines des assurances, des caisses maladie, des comptes bancaires, des cartes, des crédits, des hypothèques, de la bourse en ligne et des télécoms.