george soros

George Soros (* 1930)

While George Soros’ speculations on financial markets have long been responsible for economic worry and tension, he busies himself as a politically-motivated philanthropist through his “Open Society Institute”.

George Soros moved to England from Hungary in 1947 and completed his studies at the London School of Economics in 1952. In 1956 he immigrated to the U.S. and subsequently occupied various positions in investment firms.

In 1973, Soros founded his own hedge fund, known as Soros Fund Management. This hedge fund developed into the Quantum Fund. His hedge fund earned legendary profits, beating the market by 100% on two occasions.

An aggressive short position on the pound sterling on the 16 of September, 1992 (Black Wednesday), threw Soros into the spotlight. In a single day he collected 1 billion dollars in profit. Soros repeated this tactic with currencies like the German mark and the Thai baht.

Soros is known for his aggressive and short-term investment style, in stark contrast to long-term investors like Buffett and Fisher.

Like Dreman, Soros shares the view that the stock market is ruled by emotional chaos which rational investors can exploit to their advantage.

Unlike classic contrarians, Soros is also happy to run with the investor herd for long periods of time. Soros himself admits to possessing an instinct for making the right investment decisions, though there is not rational explanation for this instinct.

While Soros’ bets on financial markets have long been a source of economic fear and insecurity for people the world over, he busies himself as a politically-motivated philanthropist through his own Open Society Institute.

His decisions have been largely influenced by the teachings of philosopher Karl Popper, under whom he studied.

Stock trading fees compared

About Moneyland Magazine

The moneyland.ch magazine provides accurate, unbiased information on topics related to finance and money. In addition to research and expert interviews, the magazine contains numerous financial guides.

george soros

George Soros (* 1930)

Alors que George Soros inquiète et terrorise parfois les marchés financiers avec ses paris, il exerce une activité en tant que philanthrope engagé politiquement avec son «Open Society Institute».

George Soros quitte la Hongrie en 1947 pour se réfugier en Angleterre, où il termine ses études à la London School of Economics. Il émigre aux États-Unis en 1956 où il obtient par la suite divers postes de travail au sein d’entreprises d’investissement.

Soros fonde en 1973 son propre Hedge Fund «Soros Fund Management», qui se développe par la suite en l’actuel «Quantum Fund». Les rendements de son Hedge Fund étaient légendaires et ont soi-disant même dépassé à deux fois la barre des 100%.

Soros est devenu célèbre avec une short-position (position courte) agressive sur la livre sterling le 16 septembre 1992 («Black Wednesday»). Il atteint ainsi en un seul jour un profit de plus de 1 milliard de dollars américains. Soros réalise des spéculations similaires à d’autres devises, telles le mark allemand ou le baht thaïlandais.

Soros est également connu pour son style d’investissement agressif et à court terme, totalement à l’opposé d’investisseurs à long terme comme par exemple Buffett ou Fisher. Soros partage avec Drewman l’opinion de la présence d’un chaos émotionnel à la Bourse, pouvant être mis à profit pour l’investisseur rationnel.

Contrairement aux «contrarians» classiques, il est pourtant prêt à investir à long terme, de concert avec la «horde d’investisseurs». Soros admet également disposer lui-même d’un instinct (bien sûr irrationnel) pour prendre les bonnes décisions lors d’un investissement.

Alors que Soros inquiète et terrorise parfois les marchés financiers avec ses paris, il exerce une activité en tant que philanthrope engagé politiquement avec son «Open Society Institute».

Lors de ses décisions, il se laisse soi-disant guider par la philosophie du penseur Karl Popper, chez qui il étudie et en est influencé de façon durable.

Au sujet du magazine Moneyland

Le magazine de moneyland.ch vous informe de manière compétente et indépendante à propos de multiples sujets en lien avec la finance et l’argent. En plus des nombreux articles de fonds et interviews avec des experts, vous trouvez aussi de nombreux guides pratiques sur l’argent.