Bonus-Malus

In insurance, the term bonus-malus denotes a system which rewards policyholders for not making claims and penalizes them for making claims. Policyholders who do not make claims are rewarded with discounts on premiums. Policyholders who make claims are penalized with markups on premiums.

The purpose of bonus-malus systems is to better spread insurance risk by charging higher premiums to policyholders who generate costs while reducing the premiums of those who do not.

Typically, bonus-malus systems use a series of tiers. The standard tier represents the standard insurance premium. Bonus tiers represent progressive discounts on the standard premium. Malus tiers represent progressive markups on the standard premium. Both discounts and markups are typically a percentage of the standard premium, though fixed amounts may also be used.

Insurance providers bump you up by one or more tier every year in which you do not file a claim. Some insurers provide additional avenues for improving your bonus-malus rating. For example, car insurance providers may bump you up to a better tier for attending defensive driving courses.

When you file a claim, you are bumped down by one tier, or possibly more, meaning you lose discounts and/or pay markups on premiums. Insurance providers may have additional allowances for lowering your bonus-malus rating. For example, car insurance providers may lower your bonus-malus rating when you commit a serious traffic offense, but this practice is not common among Swiss insurance providers.

In Switzerland, bonus-malus is most widely used in car insurance. It is sometimes used for other kinds of insurance, such as household insurance and paid sick leave insurance. Some Swiss health insurance providers also use bonus-malus systems (see the definition of bonus health insurance for more information).

Swiss liability insurance providers generally abstain from reducing your bonus-malus for strict liability claims. Swiss car insurance providers which use bonus-malus generally offer a claims forgiveness rider or include this in their offers by default.

More on this topic:
Car insurance comparison
Compulsory health insurance comparison

Health insurance premiums in comparison

Find the cheapest health insurance now

Compare now
Request now for free

Leading credit cards

Free credit card

Swisscard Cashback Cards Amex

  • No annual fees

  • Two cards Amex & Visa/Mastercard

  • With cash back

Free credit card

Migros Cumulus Visa

  • No annual fees

  • With Cumulus points

  • Without foreign currency fees

Trading platforms

Brokers with low fees

Swiss Broker

FlowBank

  • Swiss online bank

  • No additional exchange charges

  • No transaction fees for Swiss equities

Swiss Broker

Saxo Bank Switzerland

  • Swiss online bank

  • Favorable prices stock trading

  • High account interest rates

Swiss Broker

Cornèrtrader

  • Swiss online bank

  • No custody fees for stocks

  • Free market research and trading signals

Request now for free

Cheap bank accounts with card

Free bank account

Yuh

  • No account fees

  • Banking partner: Swissquote & Postfinance

  • CHF 20 trading credit with code «YUHMONEYLAND»

Swiss digital bank

Alpian

  • Multi-currency account with Visa card (CHF, EUR, USD, GBP)

  • Favorable foreign exchange rates

  • CHF 100 welcome bonus

Online private account

UBS key4

  • 50 KeyClub points as a welcome gift

  • Online private account with debit card

Editor Daniel Dreier
Daniel Dreier is editor and personal finance expert at moneyland.ch.

Bonus-malus

Dans le domaine de l’assurance, le terme «bonus-malus» désigne un système qui récompense les assurés qui ne recourent pas aux prestations. Ces derniers se voient récompensés sous la forme d’une réduction des primes. À contrario, elle pénalise les assurés qui recourent aux prestations par le biais d’une augmentation des primes.

Les systèmes de bonus-malus servent à mieux assurer le de partage des risques: l’assurance facture des primes plus élevées aux personnes qui occasionnent effectivement des frais. Inversement, la prime de base est réduite en l’absence de sinistre.

Les systèmes de bonus-malus connaissent généralement différents degrés. La prime de normale sert de degré de référence de base. Le degré de bonus détermine alors le rabais accordé sur la prime de base, tandis que le degré de malus indique la majoration par rapport à la prime normale. Tant les rabais que les majorations représentent généralement un pourcentage de la prime habituelle. Dans certains cas, il peut y avoir des montants fixes au lieu d’un pourcentage.

Chaque année sans sinistre ou sans recours aux prestations vous permet d’améliorer votre degré. Certaines assurances incluent également d’autres possibilités permettant de progresser sur l’échelle de bonus. Ainsi, la participation à un cours de perfectionnement à la conduite est parfois récompensé par une réduction de degré de bonus.

Lorsque vous recourez à des prestations, il se peut que vous montiez d’un ou de plusieurs degrés, ce qui signifie que vous ne pourrez plus bénéficier de rabais ou alors qu’il vous faudra vous acquitter d’une majoration. Les assureurs appliquent aussi parfois d’autres méthodes pour faire augmenter le coefficient du bonus-malus. Ceci peut être le cas, par exemple, quand on commet une infraction grave au code de la route, même si ce n’est pas pratique courante chez les assureurs suisses.

Le système de bonus-malus est très courant chez les compagnies d’assurance automobile suisses. Parfois, il est également proposé dans le cadre d’autres types d’assurance, par exemple pour les assurances ménage et les assurances d’indemnités journalières de maladie. Il existe aussi quelques caisses d’assurance maladie qui utilisent également un système de bonus-malus (pour plus d’informations, consultez l’article du glossaire sur les assurances avec bonus).

En Suisse, les assurances responsabilité civile ne modifient généralement pas le coefficient du bonus-malus en cas de responsabilité causale. Les assurances suisses disposant d’un système de bonus-malus proposent souvent comme complément d’assurance la soi-disant garantie protection du bonus, si celle-ci n’est pas déjà comprise par défaut dans la police.

Informations complémentaires:
Comparatif des assurances automobile
Comparatif des caisses d’assurance maladie

Comparaison des primes d'assurance maladie

Trouvez maintenant la caisse maladie la moins chère

Comparez maintenant
Demandez maintenant gratuitement

Principales cartes de crédit

Carte de crédit gratuite

Swisscard Cashback Cards Amex

  • Sans frais annuels

  • En double exemplaire Amex & Visa/Mastercard

  • Avec retour d'argent

Carte de crédit gratuite

Migros Cumulus Visa

  • Sans frais annuels

  • Avec points Cumulus

  • Sans frais de change

Plateformes de trading

Courtiers avec des frais bas

Courtier en ligne

FlowBank

  • Banque en ligne suisse

  • Pas de frais de bourse supplémentaires

  • Pas de frais de courtage pour les actions suisses

Courtier en ligne

Saxo Banque Suisse

  • Banque en ligne suisse

  • Prix avantageux

  • Taux d'intérêt élevés sur les comptes

Courtier en ligne

Cornèrtrader

  • Offre numérique

  • Pas de frais de garde pour les actions

  • Recherche et signaux de trading gratuits

Demandez maintenant gratuitement

Comptes bancaires avantageux

Compte bancaire gratuit

Yuh

  • Pas de frais de compte

  • Partenaire bancaire: Swissquote & Postfinance 

  • CHF 20 de crédit de trading avec le code «YUHMONEYLAND»

Banque numérique suisse

Alpian

  • Compte multi-monnaies avec carte Visa (CHF, EUR, USD, GBP)

  • Cours de devises étrangères avantageux

  • Bonus de bienvenue de 100 CHF

Compte privé en ligne

UBS key4

  • 50 points KeyClub comme cadeau de bienvenue

  • Compte privé en ligne avec carte de débit

Rédacteur Daniel Dreier
Daniel Dreier est rédacteur et expert des questions d'argent chez moneyland.ch.