Swiss National Bank Agency

Swiss National Bank (SNB) agencies are agencies managed by Swiss cantonal banks which distribute and collect base money in the form of cash on behalf of the Swiss National Bank.

In addition to facilitating the withdrawal of damaged banknotes and coins from circulation and the circulation of newly-issued coins and banknotes, SNB agencies also facilitate the introduction of new banknote series.

Unlike SNB branch offices, SNB agencies have limited cash management and storage facilities.

A total of 14 SNB agencies operate in Switzerland. These are managed by the Appenzeller Kantonalbank (APPKB), Banque Cantonale de Fribourg (BCF/FKB), Banque Cantonale de Genève (BCGE), Banque Cantonale du Valais (BCVs), Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank (BLKB), Glarner Kantonalbank (GLKB), Graubündner Kantonalbank (GKB), Luzerner Kantonalbank (LUKB), Nidwaldner Kantonalbank (NKB), Obwaldner Kantonalbank (OKB), Schaffhauser Kantonalbank (SHKB), Schwyzer Kantonalbank (SZKB), Urner Kantonalbank (UKB) and Zuger Kantonalbank (ZugerKB)

About is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 100 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.