Central African Economic and Monetary Community

The Central African Economic and Monetary Community or Communauté Économique des États de l'Afrique Centrale is a currency and customs union which includes Cameroon, Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, the Republic of the Congo, Gabon, the Central African Republic, Burundi, Chad, Equatorial Guinea and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Six members of the union – Cameroon, Chad, the Central African Republic, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and the Republic of the Congo – share a common currency, the Central African CFA franc. The currency is issued by the Banque des États de l'Afrique Centrale, a central bank in Yaoundé, Cameroon. The Central African CFA franc was previously pegged to the French franc and is currently pegged to the euro. It is used interchangeably with the West African CFA franc used within the West African Economic and Monetary Union.

More on this topic:
Online forex broker comparison

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.