West African Economic and Monetary Union

The West African Economic and Monetary Union or “Union économique et monétaire ouest-africaine” is a currency and customs union which includes Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire, Niger, Togo, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Benin and Mali. The common currency of the monetary area is the West African CFA franc, with CFA being the acronym for “Communauté Financière Africaine”.

The West African CFA Franc is used interchangeably with the Central African CFA franc used within the Central African Economic and Monetary Community. The CFA franc was formerly pegged to the French franc and is currently pegged to the euro.

The central bank of the West African Economic and Monetary Union is the “Banque Centrale des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest”. It is located in Dakar, Senegal.

More on this topic:
Online forex broker comparison

About moneyland.ch

moneyland.ch is Switzerland’s independent online comparison service covering banking, insurance and telecom. More than 80 unbiased comparison tools and calculators are available on moneyland.ch, along with useful financial guides and timely news. The comprehensive comparison tools help you to find the right insurance policies, bank accounts, credit and prepaid cards, loans, mortgages, trading accounts and telecom products for your needs.