Expat buying stocks in CH

Here you will find the right answers

About Moneyland Forum

The moneyland.ch forum lets you exchange knowledge on numerous topics related to money and get answers to your questions at any time. Join forum users and experts in discussions relating to banking, investment, insurance, retirement, telecom and everyday money topics.

Show categories

Please login in or sign up to participate in the forum.

• Benutzernamederfalco
  • Status Member
  • Registriert seit10/20/22
  • Beiträge2

Hello, I am a newbie here so apologies if this has been asked before (I looked through the forums but didn't see an answer)

I have stock with some companies in the US and cash too but am now blocked from buying more stock there as I am non-resident. I'm a US citizen with a Swiss B Permit. 

Should I move the cash over to Switzerland and trade stock here instead?

Sorry for the simple question but any advice would be much appreciated!

• BenutzernameMister Banks
  • Status Member
  • Registriert seit8/16/15
  • Beiträge175

Good day

In general, there are of course many American trading platforms/brokers that are cheaper than Swiss platforms/ banks. 

But if you can no longer trade in the USA, and want to trade regularly, there is no need for a comparison between Swiss and US providers. So the recommendation is important that you choose a broker that is as cheap as possible (by Swiss standards). You can find the Swiss broker comparison on moneyland.ch: https://www.moneyland.ch/en/online-trading-comparison.

However, if you can still hold the US shares with your US broker (and sell them at some point), this is probably the cheaper option (unless you have to pay higher custody fees there, but this is often free in the US). This is because you would have to transfer the shares to a Swiss account (usually in CHF), in which case exchange rate costs would be incurred.