SEPA Transfer

SEPA is the abbreviated form of “Single Euro Payments Area” and denotes a common euro payment area. All European Union and European Economic Area member countries are part of the SEPA, as are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Monaco, The Channel Islands, San Marino and some others.

SEPA transfers can be used to make euro transactions within the SEPA. Transfers can be made via e-banking, datalink or SWIFT services.

Because SEPA transactions are a standardized money transfer model, Swiss banks usually perform them free-of-charge, or at a much lower fee than transfers made in foreign currency.

Criteria for a SEPA transaction:

  • Payments in euro
  • IBAN of the account to which money is being transferred
  • BIC of the bank to which money is being transferred (bank must be SEPA compatible)
  • Shared (SHA) billing is used: fees are shared between the sender and the recipient

Important: If a transaction does not meet the above criteria, it will be processed as a regular overseas transfer, which will normally be a lot more expensive.

More on this topic:
Sending money overseas
Swiss private account comparison
Peer to peer money transfers explained

Request now for free

Cheap bank accounts with card

Free bank account


  • No account fees

  • Banking partner: Swissquote & Postfinance

  • CHF 20 trading credit with code «YUHMONEYLAND»

Swiss digital bank


  • Multi-currency account with Visa card (CHF, EUR, USD, GBP)

  • Favorable foreign exchange rates

  • CHF 100 welcome bonus

Online private account

UBS key4

  • 50 KeyClub points as a welcome gift

  • Online private account with debit card

Swiss bank packages comparison

Find the best bank offer now

Compare now
Trading platforms

Brokers with low fees

Swiss Broker


  • Swiss online bank

  • No additional exchange charges

  • No transaction fees for Swiss equities

Swiss Broker

Saxo Bank Switzerland

  • Swiss online bank

  • Favorable prices stock trading

  • High account interest rates

Swiss Broker


  • Swiss online bank

  • No custody fees for stocks

  • Free market research and trading signals

Expert Benjamin Manz
Benjamin Manz is CEO of and an independent expert on banking and finance.